Eight Wrestlers Advance as 115th EIWA Opens

Josh Terao wrestles at the 2018 NCAA Championships

BINGHAMTON, N.Y.– Six American University wrestlers won first-round matches and eight advanced to Friday's evening session during early-round action at the 115th Eastern Intercollegiate Wrestling Association Championships hosted by Binghamton.

Gage Curry, Josh Terao, Jack Mutchnik, Kizhan Clarke, Tanner Harvey and Niko Camacho all won first-round matches for the Eagles.

AU finished the first session in fifth place in the team standings out of 16 schools competing.

The evening session on Friday begins at 6 p.m… Video is available on a pay-per-view basis at www.flowrestling.org, with live results at http://arena.flowrestling.org

Follow @AU_Wrestling on Twitter for round-by-round updates throughout the tournament.

A full-day recap will be available on AUEagles.com following Friday night's session.



GAGE CURRY (125) – Seeded 7th

R16 – Curry (AU) dec. Joe Manchio (Columbia), 8-2

QF – Curry vs. #10 Pat Glory (Princeton)

#19 JOSH TERAO (133) – Seeded 2nd

R16 – Terao (AU) tech. fall Jonathan Gomez (Princeton), 19-4 (5:23)

QF – Terao vs. Zack Trampe (Binghamton)

#30 JACK MUTCHNIK (141) – Seeded 4th

R16 – Mutchnik (AU) dec. Noah Levett (Bucknell), 3-1

QF – Mutchnik vs. Anthony Sparacio (Binghamton)

MICHAEL SPRAGUE (149) – Seeded 5th

R16 – P.J. Ogunsanya (Army) dec. Sprague, 6-2

Cons8#1 – Sprague (AU) dec. Zack Krause (Brown), 6-0

Cons8#2 – Sprague vs. Loser of Bout 106

KIZHAN CLARKE (157) – Seeded 8th

R16 – Clarke (AU) dec. Evan Barczak (Drexel), 3-1

QF – Clarke vs. #12 Zach Hartman (Bucknell)


R16 – #27 Cael McCormick (Army) dec. Wokasch, 11-5

Cons8#1 – Wokasch (AU) pinned Matt Swanson (Binghamton), 5:51

Cons8#2 – Wokasch (AU) vs. Loser of Bout 122


R16 – #19 Spencer Carey (Navy) pinned Allshouse, 2:40

Cons8#1 – A.J. Pedro Methuen (Brown) dec. Allshouse, 15-11

#26 TANNER HARVEY (184) – Seeded 6th

R16 – Harvey (AU) pinned Trey Rogers (Hofstra), 2:26

QF – Harvey vs. #6 Ryan Preisch (Lehigh)


R16 – #7 Rocco Caywood (Army) major dec. Correa-Medina, 9-0

Cons8#1 –Anthony DePrez (Binghamton) pinned Correa-Medina, 1:54

NIKO CAMACHO (285) – Seeded 5th

R16 – Camacho (AU) pinned Evan Callahan (Harvard), 1:44

QF – Camacho (AU) vs. #30 Ben Sullivan (Army)



R16 – Round of 16

QF – Quarterfinal

Cons8#1 – Consolation round of 8

Cons8#2 – Second consolation round of 8

   Rankings listed are from NCAA Coaches Panel of 2/24