Terao Posts Pair of Upsets to Win Title, Lead Wrestling at Keystone Classic


David Terao won his first individual title of the season, picking up a pair of wins over top 20 opponents to lead the American University wrestling team at the Keystone Classic on Sunday. 

"David Terao won a very tough weight class and showed that he will compete with the best this season," said Head Coach Teague Moore. "Overall we made positive improvements from our Wisconsin dual. We executed better and with purpose and overall it was a good day of wrestling."

Terao opened his title run with consecutive decisions over Jeremy Schwartz of Pennsylvania, 13-6, and Indiana's Joe Duca, 8-2. In his semifinal match, Terao faced No. 8 Anthony Zanetta of Pittsburgh and earned an 11-3 major decision to advance to the finals. The redshirt sophomore faced No. 16 Robert Deutsch of Rider for the title and was able to grind out a 3-1 sudden victory decision for the 125 lbs. title.

No. 12 Daniel Mitchell also advanced to the title bout. He posted a 6-1 decision over Indiana's Garret Goldman to open the competition and pinned Harvard's James Fox in 4:31. Mitchell picked up a 5-2 decision over Penn's Francis Mattiace to advance to the 197 lbs. championship, where he ended up on the short end of a 6-3 decision to No. 10 Richard Perry of Bloomsburg.

"Danny Mitchell pulled two big wins on his way to second place. He executed a neutral offense that he had not done yet this year," said Moore.

Esteban Gomez-Rivera was the final American grappler to reach the podium, finishing sixth overall. He picked up a 2-1 decision over Arizona State's Coltin Fought and was edged in a 1-0 decision to No. 13 Nick Wilcox of Bloomsburg. Gomez-Rivera earned a pair of decisions to advance to the consolation semifinals but dropped an 8-6 decision to Rider's Chuck Zeisloft. He was then edged in a 3-0 decision by Boston U.'s Dane Harlowe in the fifth place bout.

John Boyle recorded a pair of victories at 157 lbs., picking up a tech fall in his first match and major decision in his second, but fell to No. 11 Nestor Taffur of Boston U., 9-3, and Kevin Hartnett of Bloomsburg, 4-3. 

American finished 10th in the overall standings. Bloomsburg took home the team title with 117 points.

The Eagles compete at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invitational next on December 6 and 7.