Wrestling Sends Three to NCAA Championships; Tao Receives At-Large Bid


Complete NCAA Championship Brackets

The American University wrestling team’s three NCAA Championship qualifiers found out their tournament fates on Wednesday night with the release of the official brackets for the 2013 NCAA Wrestling Championships, held in Des Moines, Iowa on March 21-23. 

Two wrestlers, third-place finisher David Terao (125 lbs.) and EIWA Runner-Up Blake Herrin (285 lbs.), were guaranteed spots in Des Moines as a result of their finishes at last weekend’s EIWA Championships. Kevin Tao received an at-large bid to the NCAA Championships at 149 lbs.

Terao earned a berth to his first NCAA Championships after placing third last weekend. He leads the Eagles with 28 wins and 10 pins this season. The redshirt freshman has also posted two major decisions and one technical fall. Terao will take on seventh-seeded Nathan Kraisser of North Carolina in the first round of the championships. 

Herrin enters the tournament after his runner-up finish at the EIWA Championships. Making his first NCAA appearance, the redshirt junior owns American’s best record with a 26-8 mark, tallying three major decisions and one fall. He will open the NCAA Championships against the winner of a pigtail bout between Iowa State’s Matthew Gibson and Utah Valley’s Adam Fager.

Tao earned an at-large bid after Lehigh’s Shane Welsh pulled out of the tournament due to an injury. The senior will be making his second NCAA appearance following a 24-13 season with a team-best five major decisions and seven pins. Tao will face the winner of the pigtail bout featuring Ohio State’s  Ian Paddock and third-seeded Donald Vinson of Binghamton.

Be sure to check back with AUeagles.com in the days leading up to the NCAA Championships as well as during the tournament for full coverage of the Eagles.