Video: Brasher and Yasur Earn Strength and Conditioning’s Super Eagle Awards

Video: Brasher and Yasur Earn Strength and Conditioning’s Super Eagle Awards

Senior Kelsey Brasher of the women’s soccer team and classmate Dor Yasur from men’s soccer have been honored with the Super Eagle Awards, Head Strength and Conditioning Coach Jason Riddell announced at Sunday’s 2010 Student-Athlete Banquet.

Brasher led the women's soccer team with 18 points in the 2009 campaign on a team-high seven goals and four assists. She was a two-time All-Patriot League First Team pick, as well as an All-Mid-Atlantic Region Third Team selection in 2007. The Political Science major was named an ESPN the Magazine Academic All-District Second Team honoree in 2008, as well as a four-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selection. 

Yasur was a mainstay on the Eagles defensive unit for the past four seasons, making 55 career appearances, including 49 starts. He helped anchor a defense that allowed only 1.05 goals per game in the 2009 campaign. The Business Administration major is also a four-time Patriot League Academic Honor Roll selection.

The Super Eagle award is given annually to one male and one female student-athlete who excel in American University’s strength and conditioning program. Each winner must have achieved Iron Eagle status, which is earned by placing first or second in performance testing for their respective team.

Additionally, as Riddell explains, “they must go above and beyond what is expected of them. They must have the desire to constantly push their physical limits but also to drive their teammates to excel.”

This is the second year that the Super Eagle Awards have been handed out. Last year, men’s basketball’s Derrick Mercer and Pam Stanfield from the women’s basketball team earned the distinction.

Twelve other current student-athletes from six sports earned Iron Eagle status this year:

Men’s basketball: Nick Hendra and Steve Luptak
Women’s basketball: Lisa Strack and Nicole Ryan
Field hockey: Tatum Dyer and Christine Fingerhuth
Women’s lacrosse: Emily Reichard and Paige Lin
Women’s soccer: Carleigh Morba and Kim Kroll
Volleyball: Angelina Waterman and Deborah Frantz   

Watch Riddell present all the awards in the following video:

Click here for all American University Athletics video content
Click here for Quicktime troubleshooting help
Click here for this video on AU Athletics’ YouTube channel